Annual Awards

  • The Educator of the Year, Support Staff Employee of the Year, and Rising Star Award are annual honors for staff.  Anyone - students, parents, colleagues, community members - can nominate staff members for these honors.  Nominations are sought in February with the selection process in March and winners announced in April. 

    See menu on left side of page to nominate a staff member for any award.  Nominations are open during the month of February.

Kudos to Cats

  • The Kudos to Cats program is a way for you to express gratitude to any Harrisonville Schools employee who goes above and beyond what is expected. Whether you're a parent impressed with that special touch your child's teacher added to a moment, a coworker who thinks their colleague doesn't hear often enough about the great job they are doing, or a community member who witnesses a staff member’s commitment to kids - you can send a Kudo! Anyone can nominate any Harrisonville Schools employee.

    Click here for more info & nomination form

External Recogntions

  • 2021 Chamber awards for Superintendent, District Staff
    The Harrisonville Area Chamber of Commerce recognized district staff during its annual awards in February. Chamber President Cheryl Bush announced their 2020 Educator of the Year award saying "for their work during this challenging year to keep our students safe while continuing to grow their education, this award goes to not just one person but to the entire Harrisonville school district."  Superintendent Paul Mensching accepted the award on behalf of district staff.  The district celebrated the award with a week of treats and fun for all staff in late February.

    Additionally, the Chamber presented Superintendent Paul Mensching with the 2020 Individual of the Year award for his leadership of the school district and his involvement in the community. Mensching was recognized for his leadership throughout the pandemic-shortened school year and restart this fall and strategic planning process which led to the passage of bond and levy issues in June. Mensching serves on the Chamber Board, is a member of the Harrisonville Kiwanis Club, and has served on numerous city, Chamber, and hospital committees and councils. 

    2021 MOSPRA Award for Superintendent
    Superintendent Mensching received a second accolade this spring as the Missouri School Public Relations Association (MOSPRA) named him the 2021 Administrator of the Year.  He was recognized at the annual Missouri Association of School Administrators conference in March.  The MOSPRA award recognizes “outward support of quality communications throughout the school district and a personal commitment to transparent, quality communications with staff, parents and community.”

    2020 NAEOP Award for Superintendent's Secretary
    Harrisonville Schools superintendent’s and Board of Education secretary Susan Brooker has been recognized as the Olive T. Ritchie Educational Office Professional of the Year by the National Association of Educational Office Professionals.  The award will be presented during the association’s annual conference and awards ceremony which will be held virtually this year July 20-24.  Brooker is only the fourth Missourian to receive this honor.

    Brooker was recognized by Harrisonville Schools Superintendent Paul Mensching and Board President Tina Graef during the monthly Board of Education meeting on July 28.

    Brooker is wrapping up her 28th year in the district.  She began as the registrar at Harrisonville Middle School and also served as the secretary to the Assistant Superintendent before she took over her present position in 2003.

    She is the current Missouri Educational Office Professional of the Year and also received the award in 2015-16.  

    The national award is based on professional development, leadership roles in professional association, and community activities, personal contributions, and achievements.

    Brooker has served in numerous roles at the local, state and national level. As a member of the Cass County Association of Educational Office Professionals (CCAEOP), she has served as president, fundraising chairperson, and Professional Standards Program representative.  For the Missouri Association of Educational Office Professionals (MAEOP), she has been an executive board member, recording secretary, promotions chair, vice president, membership chair, president elect, affiliations chair, president, nominating chair, Professional Standards Program representative, and District #1 co-director.  She’s also served on the MAEOP minutes review, membership, and by-laws/handbook committees. Brooker was the National Association of Educational Office Professionals (NAEOP) Hospitality Chair for the national conference and the Institute/Briefing Co-Chair.  In addition, she’s served on the NAEOP membership committee.  

    Brooker was the Greater Kansas City School Administrative Assistants Association vice president and president and since 2017, she has served as the Secretary of State Local Records Board Member.

    She earned the NAEOP Professional Standards Program certification and the NAEOP Certified Educational Office Employee certification (CEOE designation) in 2014 and the Recertification of NAEOP Professional Standards Program in 2019.